Know the ‘kundli’ of your elected MLAs जानिए नये विधायकों की ‘कुंडलियां’

Know the ‘kundli’ of your elected MLAs जानिए नये विधायकों की ‘कुंडलियां’

Uttarakhand Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) have analysed the self-sworn affidavits of all 70 newly elected MLAs in the Uttarakhand 2017 Assembly Elections. Here are the details about their criminal records, their financial position and their education…

MLAs with criminal cases:
Out of the 70 MLAs, 22 MLAs have declared criminal cases against themselves, while in 2012, 19 MLAs had declared criminal cases against themselves. Of these 14 MLAs have declared serious criminal cases including cases related to murder, attempt to murder, dacoity, robbery etc, while in 2012 this figure stood 5.

Party wise MLAs with criminal cases:
17 out of 57 MLAs from BJP, 4 out of 11 MLAs from INC, and 1 out of 2 Independent MLAs have declared criminal cases against themselves in their affidavits.

Topping the list is BJP’s Arvind Pandey from Gadarpur in Udhan Singh Nagar district with total of 12 cases, 11 serious IPC and 28 other IPC cases. He is followed by his party colleague Ganesh Joshi, MLA from Mussoorie with total cases 2, serious IPC 5 and other IPC 9 cases. Then comes name of Sahdev Singh Pundir, BJP MLA from Sahaspur (Dehradun) who has total 3 cases registered against him, 4 serious IPC and 11 other IPC cases.

Crorepati MLAs:
 Of the 70 newly elected MLAs, 51 are crorepatis against 32 in 2012.

Partywise crorepati MLAs:
40 out of 57 MLAs from BJP, 10 out of 11 MLAs from INC, and 1 out of 2 Independent MLAs have declared assets valued more than Rs.1 crore. The average of assets per MLA this time is Rs.4.11 crores against Rs.1.86 crores.

Party wise average assets:
The average assets per MLA for 57 BJP MLAs is Rs.4.09 crores, 11 INC MLAs have average assets of Rs.4.70 crores and 2 Independent MLAs have average assets of Rs.1.40 crores.

Top 5 richest MLAs are
— Satpal Maharaj (BJP-Chaubattakhal) — Rs.80.25 crore; Rajesh Shukla (BJP-Kichha) — Rs.25.97 crore; Qazi Mohd. Nizamuddin (Congress-Mangalore) — Rs. 21.30 crores; Rekha Arya (BJP-Someshwar) — Rs.12.78 crore; Surendra Singh Jeena (BJP-Sult) — Rs.10.52 crore.

5 MLAs with lowest assets are
— Prem Singh (BJP-Nanak Matta) — Rs.17 lakh; Shakti Lal Shah (BJP-Ghansali) — Rs.19.87 lakh; Meena Gangola (BJP-Gangolihat) — Rs.33.14 lakh; Mahendra Prasad (BJP-Badrinath) — Rs.34 lakh); Mukesh Singh Koli (BJP-Pauri) — Rs.35.40 lakh.

Number of re-elected MLAs:
Number of re-elected MLAs analysed in the assembly elections of 2017 is 32. The average assets of re-elected MLAs in 2012 was Rs 2.37 crores while in 2017 it is Rs.3.51 crores.  

Education Details of MLAs:
16 MLAs have declared their education qualification to be between 8th pass and 12th pass while 54 MLAs have declared having an educational qualification of graduate or above.

Write to us at

Follow us: UttarakhandPanorama@Facebook and UKPANORAMA@Twitter


No Comments Yet!

You can be first to comment this post!

Leave a Reply

eighteen + four =